Bordered In Black

I Crave Shadow.
Bring me darkness and
I will repay you a thousand times
with stolen kisses.
Bring me darkness and I will
Betray you a thousand times
with stolen glances
Lost looks
Imploring him (you)
To leave (don’t leave)
With me.
Outside. The brink
Of disaster.
Let me fall.
(Don’t let me fall)
For/With/On
You.
I know I don’t know what I want.
I know (I don’t know) what I want.
I know (I don’t know what) I want.
I Wear Shadow.
It clings to me like a cobweb.
It shrouds me in its cool embrace.
It chokes me.
I am just beyond your vision.
Bordered in Black.
Words edged in g(u)ilt.
I am confined to the space you let me occupy
In the absence of light
Or anything (one) else.
I Am Shadow.
Sooner or later I will shrink and fade.
Outshone. Outdazzled. Out(un)Done.
Pushed further aside
By glittering teeth
And sharp tearful eyes.
She will devour you.
And I will be reduced to almost nothing
Clutching corners of your room your heart your mind.
Holding my breath till you turn out the light.
Careful.
In the dark, something g(listens).
I can(‘t) wait.

2 Responses to “Bordered In Black”

  1. What an amazing poem. Hope there will be more to follow soon.
    XXX

  2. I found some words lying on the ground outside your window. (I am in the habit of picking up every piece of paper as I cannot writing utensils.) Written in haste, perhaps, but marked with such intensity that it compelled me to keep it. I have sewn it into one of my long scarves, the one I stole off a pirate in the Indian oceans. When it’s cold I wrap your words around my pulse to keep warm –
    “I Wear Shadow.
    It clings to me like a cobweb”
    I am a shadow, but a colourful one – keep writing Miss Edwards, and send more scraps out your window.
    ~s

Leave a Reply

